Skip to main content

Past Board of Governors

Board of Governors


Missouri Southern State University has a rich history. Since 1937, Missouri Southern State University has provided educational opportunities for Southwest Missouri and beyond. MSSU has evolved from an outstanding junior college to its role today as a comprehensive four-year state-supported institution offering bachelor and master degrees. Learn More..

On July 12, 2003, Governor Bob Holden signed a bill on the Missouri Southern campus that elevated the status of the institution from College to University. The legislation, sponsored by Sen. Gary Nodler (R-Joplin) and Rep. Bryan Stevenson (R-Joplin), changed the name of the institution from Missouri Southern State College to Missouri Southern State University - Joplin. The legislation officially became effective on Aug. 28, 2003. This changed the Board of Regents to what it is now known as the Board of Governors.

We would like to honor those who represented on past Board of Governors.

Board of Governors 2003-Present:

Governor's Name Year Appointed Term Expired
Jane B. Wyman 1996; 2003 2001; 2008
Glenn D. Wilson 1997 2003
Charles C. McGinty, D.D.S. 2000 2010
Elizabeth A. Deffenbaugh 2001 2006
Douglas A. Brooks 2002 2007
H. Dwight Douglas 2003 2011
Rod Anderson 2003 2009
David H. Jones 2005 2011
David Ansley 2006 2010
Nancy D. Perry 2007 2012
Richard (Dick) A. Walter 2007 2013
Sherry L. Buchanan 2009 2014
Lynn M. Ewing III 2010 2015
Charles (Chuck) Surface 2011 2016
James B. Fleischaker 2011 2017
 Keith C. Hankins 2013  2016 
Glenn M. (Mitch) McCumber 2013 2018
Tracy Combs Flanigan 2014 2019
William (Bill) Gipson 2014 2023
Alison Hershewe 2015 2020
Michael Franks 2015 2021
Anita Oplotnik 2016 2021
Carlos Haley 2016 2022