Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer

Law Enforcement Academy

600 Hour Certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Academy

In order to begin the process of attending the Law Enforcement Academy, applicants need to register for a Law Enforcement Academy informational orientation.

Applicants must be at least 20 years of age to begin the Academy, and must be 21 years of age at the time certification is issued. Applicants must be a United States citizen, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, and have proof of medical insurance. Applicants who have a criminal history must receive Missouri POST (Peace Officer Standards & Training) clearance before attending the Academy.

Application Process




Steps To Apply

  1. Complete the initial online application.
  2. Be contacted by Director Chad Adams to schedule an appointment.
  3. Complete the paperwork and submit all required documents and get fitted for the uniform.

Application Due Date: Fall 2024 semester due date is no later than July 15, 2024.

To register or ask questions pertaining to the MSSU Law Enforcement Academy:

Contact the Law Enforcement Academy Director, Chad Adams via email at or call 417-625-9519.

Printable Academy Flyer


Missouri Peace Officer Certification and Licensing Examination

The Missouri Southern State University Law Enforcement Academy is certified by the Missouri Department of Public Safety to provide a basic law enforcement academy in Missouri. The Academy provides students with the training required to become eligible to be licensed peace officers in the State of Missouri.

Upon completion of the Law Enforcement Academy applicants that meet Missouri POST certification requirements will be eligible to take the Missouri Peace Officer Certification and Licensing Examination. The certification and licensing examination is a 200-point objective examination administered by the Missouri Department of Public Safety the last week of the Law Enforcement Academy. For further information regarding the Missouri Peace Officer Certification and Licensing Examination you may visit the Department of Public Safety website at

Students who successfully complete the 600-Hour Certified Law Enforcement Academy at Missouri Southern State University, pass the Missouri Peace Officer Certification and Licensing Examination, and meet certification requirements for a Peace Officer in Missouri receive a Class A License as a Peace Officer in Missouri. A Peace Officer License does not empower you with the authority to arrest or enforce any of the laws of the State of Missouri. This will only occur after you have been employed by a law enforcement agency and commissioned by that agency. A Class A License is valid for a period of five years. If a person is not employed as a Peace Officer within five years of receiving their licenses it expires.

600-Hour Certified Basic Law Enforcement Academy Schedule

Day classes start both in Spring and Fall of each year. Day classes are scheduled to meet 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday with an occasional Saturday class.

Night classes start only in the Fall of each year, and graduate the following May. Night classes are scheduled to meet from 6:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M. (occasionally

11:00 P.M.), Monday through Thursday evenings. Night classes will meet about nine (9) Saturdays throughout the two semesters (all times are subject to change).


Tuition:  26 hours @ $280 hour (MO resident) $560 (Non-resident)            
                *Lion Pride Tuition Discount offers in-state tuition rates to Arkansas, Kansas,
                 Oklahoma, Illinois, Iowa, Tennessee, Kentucky, Nebraska, and all counties in Texas.

Estimated In-State Tuition = $7,280, Estimated Total Cost = $8,700.00

Total cost includes $1,325 Lab Fee + $125 (Health Center, Admissions, Misc.)

Estimated Out-Of-State Tuition = $14,560, Estimated Total Cost = $16,010

Total cost includes $1,325 Lab Fee + $125 Fees (Health Center, Admissions, Misc.)

Additional Requirements:

Personal Medical Insurance is MANDATED to attend the Academy.

Physical: Can be done through your own regular physician @ their fee or through MSSU’s Health Center for $25.00. Please be sure to bring the physician’s release form given in the packet.

Fingerprint Check:

MACHS ( Reason for request code: 5984                    $41.75

**All costs subject to change**


What You'll Learn

  • Students will have competent knowledge of police officer practices. 
  • Students will understand domestic violence issues.
  • Students will write clearly.


600 Hour Academy Curriculum

Legal Studies

  • Constitutional Law
  • Missouri Statutory Law
  • Traffic Law

Technical Studies

  • Patrol
  • Jail Population Management
  • Traffic Accident and Law Enforcement
  • Criminal Investigation
  • Report Writing
  • Juvenile Justice and Procedures
  • First Aid (First Responder)

Interpersonal Perspectives

  • Ethics and Professionalism
  • Human Behavior 

Skill Development

  • Defensive Tactics
  • Physical Training
  • Firearms
  • Driver Training
  • Practical Application Exercises

Instruction will be provided by area Law Enforcement Officials and other professional state certified instructors, as well as the Criminal Justice Administration Department's faculty.


Certification and Continuing Education

Once hired by a law enforcement agency the officer will be required to complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education per year to renew their license.

Two hours of continuing education must be completed in each of the four core curricula areas: Legal Studies, Technical Studies, Interpersonal Perspectives, and Skill Development in Firearms. The remaining 16 hours may be completed within any of the four curricula areas. Peace officers must also receive one (1) hour of Racial Profiling, one (1) hour of De-escalation, and one (1) hour of Implicit Bias training per year as part of their continuing education requirement. The Racial Profiling, Implicit Bias, and De-escalation training are part of the required 24 hours, not in addition to it.

Peace officers who are not commissioned but want to maintain their peace officer licenses must complete the mandated continuing law enforcement education requirements. Meeting the continuing education requirements will not prevent the expiration of the officer’s license, if the officer is not commissioned for five consecutive years.

The Law Enforcement Academy and Continuing Education Department at Missouri Southern State University is an “Approved Provider”, and Law Enforcement Officers can receive POST training hours through various trainings provided at or by the department.

More information on CLEE requirements can be found here:



The Law Enforcement Training Academy is located in the Mills Anderson Justice Center on the campus of Missouri Southern State University in Joplin, Missouri. The Justice Center is located just north of the main campus on Newman Road, and is easily accessible from Interstate 44, U.S. 66 (7th Street) and, U.S. 71 (Rangeline). Most Academy students commute to the Justice Center during training. However, housing is available at the residence halls on campus for a cost.


The Mills Anderson Justice Center

The Justice Center is an impressive, state-of-the-art facility providing students with an educational environment that fosters professionalism.

There are many unique features at the Justice Center that contribute to the overall learning experience, and serve the law enforcement community. Academy students learn defensive tactics in the gymnasium and develop strength and endurance in the weight and cardiovascular center. A modern indoor firearms range equipped with the latest technology is used to develop firearms skills. Two state-of-the-art computer (FATS), firearms training simulators are used to enhance use of force decision making and judgmental skills. Realistic situational and practical training and law enforcement defensive driving is accomplished utilizing two fully equipped police vehicles. Continuing education programs and graduation programs are conducted in the 350-seat Mills Anderson Justice Center auditorium. Sophisticated photographic and computer laboratories are located in the Justice Center as well.

Those who wish to further their education at Missouri Southern State University after the Law Enforcement Academy will be able to have 13 credit hours apply as electives within the Criminal Justice Program’s Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice Administration or the Associate of Science in Law Enforcement degrees. The Law Enforcement Academy is 26 credit hours.



Missouri Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST)