Skip to main content

Student Senate

Student Senate

At Missouri Southern, Student Senate is the student led governing body of the University.

The officers and representatives are named through general elections of the student body.

The Senate is composed of the following voting members:

  • President
  • Vice President
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Parliamentarian

Elected Senators, made up of freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and seniors.

Since its organization in 1937, the Student Senate has been given various responsibilities. Some of these are to appoint student members to the University faculty-student committees; to serve as a liaison with the administration of the University; to encourage the establishment of new campus organizations; to promote activities which will stimulate scholarship on campus; to participate in such activities as athletics and Homecoming; and, in general to initiate new programs for the academic and cultural benefits for all students.

Student Senate Committees

There are 3 large standing committees for students to be part of:

  • Capital Improvements
  • Finance
  • Public Relations

Beyond these committees there are other smaller committees generated on an as needed basis

General Senate Body Meetings are held every other Wednesday in the Billingsly Student Center Board Room at 5:30 pm.

On the other Wednesdays the large committees meet to plan and discuss anything that needs to be done.

Appropriation forms can be picked up in the Student Affairs Office BSC 347 any day of the week. In order to recieve any Senate funds, the organization must be currently registered with the Student Activities Office. Appropriation forms are due by 5pm on Monday to give the Senate time to review the request.

Finance Committee
The Finance Committee meets every other Wednesday in room 309. *Note: dates are subject to change. If this does happen groups will be notified by the Senate Treasurer or the Director of Student Activities.*

Organizational Representatives coming to speak at the Finance Meeting regarding an appropriation request will need to be at BSC 309 by 5:40 p.m.

Any questions? Please call 417-625-9392

The Student Senate at Southern is concerned about the interest and welfare of all students. Students are encouraged to take an active part in student government by making their wishes and ideas known to their representatives. 

2016-2017 MSSU Student Senate Officers:

  • President -  Amanda Gardner
  • Vice President - Colby Smith
  • Secretary - Conner Ames
  • Treasurer- Greg Reynaga
  • Capital Improvements Chair - Kendric Carlock
  • Public Relations Chair - Abigail McGuire


Like us on Facebook!