Skip To Top Navigation Skip To Content Skip To Footer

Fall 2020 Themed Semester- The Caribbean

The Caribbean Semester

2020 The Caribbean Semester

For the third year in a row, the  Fall 2020 themed semester  focuses on a region of the world rather than on a single country.

The Caribbean Semester brings the history and culture of 13 independent countries – Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Trinidad and Tobago, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Dominica – to the Missouri Southern State University campus throughout the semester. 

The Caribbean also includes numerous territories affiliated with other nations, such as the Cayman Islands (Great Britain), Aruba (the Netherlands), Martinique (France), Puerto Rico (United States), British Virgin Islands (Great Britain), Bonaire (the Netherlands), Guadeloupe (France), the Turks and Caicos Islands (Great Britain), U.S. Virgin Islands (United States), Montserrat (Great Britain), and Curaçao (the Netherlands).

The population of the entire region is nearly 44 million, with Haiti, Cuba, and the Dominican Republic the three largest countries. The majority of the population speaks English, as much of the region was colonized by the British. The other main languages are Spanish, French, Dutch, Haitian Creole, and Papiamento – a Portuguese and Spanish-based Creole language.

Check out the  full schedule  for more information, join us on our Facebook page, and stay tuned for the Japan Semester in Fall 2021!

In order to keep campus safe and for classes and activities to continue face-to-face, all events at Missouri Southern State University have been closed to external guests until further notice. All campus activities, including those scheduled as part of the Caribbean Semester, will be open only to Missouri Southern students, faculty and staff.

View the Caribbean Semester Brochure and Film Festival Passport