Skip to main content

Communication Scholarships

The Communication Department offers several opportunities for students to apply for scholarship money. In addition to the regular financial aid and scholarship programs, there are many other financial opportunities available through the Communication Department.

Financial Aid

Communication Department Scholarship Opportunities

Ruth I. Kolpin Broadcast Journalism Endowed Scholarship

Students majoring in Mass Communication with an emphasis on broadcasting benefit from a generous donation establishing an endowed scholarship at Missouri Southern State University. In spring of 2004 The Ruth I. Kolpin Foundation Board of Directors approved a scholarship, to be known as the Ruth I. Kolpin Broadcast Journalism Endowed Scholarship Fund. This donation will allow for a substantial annual scholarship for deserving students, to be provided from the income of the principal amount of the endowment. The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the development of the local broadcast industry. Since spring of 2008 The Ruth I. Kolpin Foundation board of Directors has generously awarded two RUTH I. KOLPIN BROADCAST JOURNALISM ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIPS.

Rebecca Blair Hughes and Joplin Globe Journalism Award

Awarded by the Communications Department. Communication, Social Science, or English majors, interested in journalism or political science, 3.0 cumulative GPA required as well as registration in 12 semester hours. This is a Joplin Globe internship.

Performance Awards

A Communication student who has demonstrated success or high potential may be eligible for a Performance award for The Chart, or Crossroads. Each semester eligible students may apply for awards ranging from $50 to a full scholarship consisting of tuition, fees, room and board. Students must apply directly to the director or sponsor of their particular activity.

Outside Scholarship Opportunities

Broadcast students have the opportunity to apply for scholarships from a number of national and regional organizations. They include the National Broadcasting Society, Missouri Broadcasters Association, Missouri Broadcast Society, and the Missouri Broadcast Educators Association.

Missouri Broadcasters Association

The members of the Missouri Broadcasters Association (MBA) are committed to encouraging the highest standards of broadcasting. The MBA Scholarship Fund was established as a part of this excellence. Deserving students may receive financial aid to assist them in attaining the training and expertise required to become valuable employees in Missouri's broadcasting industry.

The Missouri Broadcast Educators Association

Helping Missouri broadcast educators achieve the higest standards of excellence.

The James Lawrence Fly Scholarship

The James Lawrence Fly Scholarship is offered through the National Association of Broadcasters. It is a $2500 scholarship that is given based upon the student's academic performance and interest in the field. The student must attend a BEA-member institution.

Richard G. Zimmerman Journalism Scholarship

The National Press Club is pleased to announce that the late Richard G. Zimmerman, a member of long standing, has endowed a significant scholarship in aid of high school seniors who wish to pursue a career in journalism. Recipients will receive a non-renewal aware of $5000. The Richard G. Zimmerman scholarship is open to all high school seniors, regardless of gender or race. Applicants must have a 3.0 grade average and plan to attend college this year.

Hank Meyer Public Relations Scholarship

Hank Meyer Public Relations Scholarshuip is a monetary award given to students who either demonstrate high academic achievement or are actively involved in their school or community. This scholarship can be used to cover room and board expenses though it is typically used to cover a student's tuition. Essentially, recipients of the Hank Meyer Public Relations Scholarship have the opportunity to decide where the funds are allocated.