Skip to main content

Biology Faculty

Dr. Bradley Creamer,  Ph.D., Department Chair Bradley Creamer photo

Associate Professor of Biology & Environmental Health
Office: Reynolds Hall 213
Telephone: 417-625-3567
Email: creamer-b@mssu.edu 

 

 


Dr. Alla Barry, M.D.Alla Peters

Associate Professor of Biology & Environmental Health
Office: Ummel Hall 112
Telephone: 417-625-9534
Email: barry-a@mssu.edu


Dr. Teresa Boman, Ph.D.Teresa Boman photo

Masters in Environmental Science from Arkansas State University
Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental Science from Arkansas State University

Teaching Responsibilities: Environmental Health and Safety, Conservation and Ecology
Research Interests: Aquatic Ecosystems
Advising Areas: Environmental Health and Safety, Conservation and Ecology

Office: Reynolds Hall 241
Telephone: 417-625-9704 
Email: boman-t@mssu.edu 

 

Dr. Mike Fletcher, REHSmichael fletcher

Masters in Environmental Science from University of Oklahoma
Doctorate in Environmental Science from Oklahoma State University

Teaching Responsibilities: Environmental Health and Safety, Biology, Health Science
Research Interests: Soils and Onsite Wastewater Systems, Environmental and Occupational Safety
Advising Areas: Environmental Health and Safety

Office: Reynolds Hall 236
Telephone: 417-625-9765
Email: fletcher-m@mssu.edu


Dr. Donna Johnson, DVMDonna Johnson photo

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from University of Missouri - Columbia

Teaching Responsibilities: Microbiology, Anatomy and Physiology, Food Safety, Epidemiology
Research Interests: Infectious Zoonotic diseases, multi-drug resistent bacteria
Advising Areas: Pre-medicine, Pre-veterinary

Office: Reynolds Hall 242
Telephone: 417-625-3556
Email: johnson-d@mssu.edu


John Kilmer, M.S.Photo of John Kilmer

Lecturer of Biology & Environmental Health
Office: Reynolds Hall 125
Telephone: 417-625-9556
Email: kilmer-j@mssu.edu


Dr. Mary (Katie) Kilmer, Ph.D.Photo of Mary Kilmer

Master of Arts in Biological Sciences from University of Missouri - Columbia
Master of Science in Environmental Sciences from Arkansas State University
Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental Science from Arkansas State University

Teaching Responsibilities: General Biology, Principles of Biology, Ecology, Aquatic Ecology, Research Design and Statistics, Environmental Health and Safety, Epidemiology, Epidemiology Statistics
Research Interests: Evolution and Ecology, Animal Behavior, GIS applications in Environmental Science, Marine Biology
Advising Areas: Conservation, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Marine Biology, General Biology

Office: Reynolds Hall 226
Telephone: 417-625-3564
Email: kilmer-m@mssu.edu


Dr. Mike Lawson, Ph.D.Mike Lawson

Professor of Biology & Environmental Health
Office: Reynolds Hall 104
Telephone: 417-625-3116
Email: lawson-m@mssu.edu  


Dr. Crystal Lemmons, DVMCrystal Lemmons

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from University of Missouri

Teaching Responsibilities: Anatomy and Physiology, Histology
Research Interests: None
Advising Areas: Pre-veterinary Medicine, Pre-pharmacy, Pre-medicine

Office: Ummel Hall 111B
Telephone: 417-625-9592
Email: lemmons-c@mssu.edu


Dr. David Penning, Ph.D.Photo of David Penning

Master of Science in Biology from University of Central Missouri
Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental and Evolutionary Biology from University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Teaching Responsibilities: Principles of Biology I and II, Ecology, Herpetology
Research Interests: Functional morphology of animal movement, Comparative physiology and behavior
Advising Areas: None

Office: Reynolds Hall 217
Telephone: 417-625-9764
Email: penning-d@mssu.edu


Dr. Karen Plucinski, Ph.D.Karen Plucinski

Masters in Zoology from University of Montana
Doctor of Philosophy in Wildlife Ecology from University of Maine

Teaching Responsibilities: Principles of Biology I and II, Ecology, Conservation Biology, Mammalogy, Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II
Research Interests: Conservation education, Online learning
Advising Areas: General Biology, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy


Office:  Ummel Hall 111C
Telephone: 417-625-9891
Email: plucinski-k@mssu.edu


Dr. Anna Rinner, Ph.D.Anna Rinner photo

Doctor of Philosophy in Molecular Evolutionary Genetics from Purdue University

Teaching Responsibilities: Principle of Biology, Genetics, Evolution, Radiation Biology, General Biology
Research Interests: Genetics, Conservation, Ecology
Advising Areas: Physical and Occupational Therapy, Biotechnology, Genetics, Microbiology, General Biology

Office: Reynolds Hall 221
Telephone: 417-625-3053
Email: rinner-a@mssu.edu


Dr. Vickie Roettger, Ph.D.Dr. Vickie Roettger, Interim Department Chair and Professor of Biology & Environmental Health

Professor of Biology & Environmental Health
Office: Reynolds Hall 230
Telephone: 417-625-3176
Email: roettger-v@mssu.edu


Shannon Sample, M.S.Photo of Shannon Sample

Lecturer of Biology & Environmental Health
Office: Ummel Hall 111A
Telephone: 417-625-3165
Email: sample-s@mssu.edu


Dr. Scott Wells, DVMScott Wells photo

Professor of Biology & Environmental Health
Office: Reynolds Hall 227
Telephone: 417-625-9510
Email: wells-s@mssu.ed u 


Dr. Jason Willand, Ph.D.Jason Willand phto

Master of Biology from Western Illinois University
Doctor of Philosophy in Plant Biology from Southern Illinois University

Teaching Responsibilities: Biology
Research Interests: Plant, insect and restoration ecology of tallgrass prairie communities
Advising Areas: Conservation Biology, Marine Biology, General Biology


Office: Reynolds Hall 244
Telephone: 417-625-3568
Email: willand-j@mssu.edu 


 


Professor Emeriti

Dr. John Messick, Ph.D.Photo of John Messick

Ph.D. in Forestry, Wildlife and Range Management from the University of Idaho
Master of Science in Wildlife Management from the University of Idaho

Teaching Responsibilities: Anatomy and Physiology, Research and Statistical Methods, Comparative Vertabrate Anatomy
Research Interests: Vertabrate Ecology
Advising Areas: None

Office: Reynolds Annex 107-B
Telephone: 417-625-9341
E-mail: messick-j@mssu.edu


Dr. James Jackson, Ph.D. Dr. James Jackson

Professor Emeritus
Office: non-teaching faculty
Telephone: 417-625-9376
Email: jackson-j@retired.mssu.edu

#gomoso

©