Faculty Senate has had a few changes in the Executive Committee since the beginning of the year. The current FSEC is as follows:

President: Jean Coltharp President Elect: Vacant Past President: David Locher

Secretary: Amber Carr

Parliamentarian: Mikh Gunderman

At Large: Michael Beilfuss

With the juggling of FSEC, we discovered some issues with our Bylaws and Constitution. Faculty Senate has decided to update these this semester. The changes are to bring the processes into the 21st century, remove redundancies, and bring them more in line with how Senate is currently run. The Board will need to vote on these changes after they are approved by an all faculty vote.

This semester, Faculty Senate (in conjunction with administration) would also like to look at the current Promotion and Tenure standards. Specifically, taking into consideration the heavy advising load that many faculty members have. As it is now, they are held to the same research, service, and teaching standards as faculty who have significantly fewer advisees.

I look forward to serving as Faculty Senate President. Please reach out to me if you have any suggestions, concerns, or comments regarding the faculty!

Thank you, Jean Coltharp Faculty Senate President Associate Professor, Mathematics