# MISSOURI SOUTHERN

## FACULTY SENATE

# Report of the Faculty Liaison to the Board of Governors

Nicholas P. Nicoletti, Faculty Senate President 2017-2018 June 14, 2017

The Faculty Senate met on May 1, 2017. The following is a summary of the issues discussed and votes taken at that meeting:

#### **Old Business**

The Faculty Senate was presented proposals for changes to the Faculty Handbook for the second reading. All proposals passed the second reading and they are summarized below:

### FHC Proposal 2016-2017.005—Regular and Substantive Feedback in DL courses

RE: Chapter 8, V. Course Policy Statements (p58) It is the recommendation of the Distance Learning Committee, and the Academic Policies Committee that the handbook be changed to add the following statement:

For online course syllabi only: A description of course activities (of which substantive instructor feedback, including individual student feedback must be a part) through which students can expect to interact with their instructor and the time frame in which these activities will occur.

#### Proposal Passed.

## 2016-2017.006 - Representation Formula

RE: Chapter 2, Section I, Article IV. The Faculty Senate, Section 4: Representation Formula and Membership (p.11)

#### Old Language:

The representation by department shall be based upon the number of Voting Faculty. The following formula shall be used:

One representative for each department with three to twenty Voting Faculty members; two representatives for each department with twenty-one or more Voting Faculty members.

#### New Language

The representation by department shall be based upon the number of Voting Faculty. The following formula shall be used:

One representative for each department with three to fourteen Voting Faculty members; two representatives for each department with fifteen or more Voting Faculty members.

#### Proposal Passed.

## Proposal FHC 2016-2017:008. SCOC Representation

RE: Chapter 2, Section II, Article III. Faculty Senate Committees B, The Academic Policies Committee and the School Curriculum Oversight Committees (p.16)

Each of the SCOCs will have specific voting members and Graduate council was removed as a SCOC. One SCOC for each of the four schools, every department will have a SCOC representative. Each SCOC has 3 voting members, but may have more members for discussion and debate. However, additional members are non-voting. Each SCOC has 3 voting members, except Arts & Sciences, which has 7 because of its larger size.

# Proposal Passed.

**New Business** 

## **Great Game of Education:**

Scott Cragin attended the meeting to announce that the GGOE Culture Committee needs two new members. Dustin Faulstick and Michael Garoutte were present and gave short speeches. Other nominees were Elke Howe, Maryann Mitts and Jordan Wilson. Faculty Senators voted and Dustin Faulstick and Michael Garoutte were elected as members of the culture committee.

The next order of business was discussing and approving items from **AP Report 16.17.28**:

From the Arts and Sciences School Curriculum Oversight Committees (reports included in the VPAA's report):

- Communication AP 16-17:CC
- AP 16-17:DD SCOC Art & Sciences: 4087021, 4087075, 4087091, 4087173
- AS15-16:66 BIO/EH/GEOG 304
- AS15-16:67 BIO/EH/GEOG 404
- AS15-16:68 GEOG 298
- AS15-16:69 GEOG 498
- Communication AP16-17:GG

*From the School of Education Oversight Committees (reports included in the VPAA's report):* 

- Communication AP 16-17:HH
- Proposals 4084913, 4085350, 4076542
- Communication AP16-17:II
- •

From the School of Health Science Oversight Committees (reports included in the VPAA's report):

- Communication AP-16-17:JJ
- Communication AP 16-17:KK

From the Graduate Council (reports included in the VPAA's report):

- Communication AP 16-17:LL
- Proposals 4076339, 4076361, 4076372, 4084565, 4076394, 4076405, 4076416, 4076427, 4083865, 4087494, 4084828, 4116277, 4116293, 4116333, 4116392
- Communication AP16-17MM
- Communication 16-17:NN

From Academic Policies (reports included in the VPAA's report):

• Report AP16-17:27

## **Seating of New Senators and Elections**

New senators were seated and the body immediately began to hold elections for the new Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

Parliamentarian: Andrea Cullers nominated Natalie Grecu. Natalie was approved as Parliamentarian.

*Secretary*: Megan Bever nominated Will Delahanty. Will Delahanty was approved as secretary.

*At-Large*: Brad Creamer nominated Andrea Cullers and Rich Laird was nominated by Grant Lathrom. Andrea Cullers won the vote.

*President Elect*: Grant Lathrom was nominated by Claudia Koch for President-elect. He accepted and won by acclamation.

## The Next Faculty Senate meeting is scheduled for Monday, August 28, 2017.

Respectfully submitted, Nicholas P. Nicoletti, Ph.D. 2017-2018 Faculty Senate President