

HUMAN RESOURCES

LAST REVISED: AUGUST 2020

OWNER: HUMAN RESOURCES

ABOUT THE UNIVERSITY - GOVERANCE & HISTORY POLICY

1.0 PURPOSE

The purpose of the policy is to provide guidance to University employees regarding necessary information pertaining to the University Governance & History.

2.0 SCOPE

University Employee Policy

3.0 POLICY

Public higher education is made up of the University of Missouri System with campuses at Columbia, St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla, the State Universities at Joplin, Maryville, Kirksville, Cape Girardeau, Springfield, St. Joseph, Warrensburg, Harris-Stowe located at St. Louis, and Lincoln University located at Jefferson City.

The Coordinating Board is made up of nine lay members and a professional staff that advises the Governor on matters of higher education. The Board is charged with preparing an annual report on the status of higher education in Missouri. By executive order and statute, the Board is responsible for budgetary recommendations to the Governor, for planning and coordinating all federal programs, and for coordinating all post-secondary education in Missouri.

Each state university has a governing body called the Board of Regents, Board of Governors or the Board of Curators. The members of each board are appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Senate. Missouri Southern has seven members with each serving a six-year term. The terms rotate with a new member appointed each year.

Each Board appoints a President to serve as Chief Executive Officer of the college or university. The President of each institution is directly responsible to his or her Board for complete operation of the unit.

4.0 HISTORY

This policy may be revised, edited, changed or removed at any time with or without notice to applicable individuals.

5.0 RELATED DOCUMENTS