Alumni Homecoming Activities Slated

September 17, 2012

Lee Elliff Pound

homecoming 2012 logoJOPLIN, MO (SNS) – Get ready for Homecoming 2012!

The “Celebrating 75 Years of Lion Pride” Homecoming will be held Oct. 2 - 6 at Missouri Southern State University.

Homecoming is a time to rekindle ties with classmates, faculty and campus.  All current students and alumni are invited to reconnect with the University during Homecoming weekend.

From MSSU’s roots in 1937 as Joplin Junior College, to today’s expansive 373-acre campus and nearly 6,000 students, the college and university experience is a time of  growing for all students. 

This year’s Homecoming  parade will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 6, followed by the 2 p.m. kick-off as the MSSU Lions face the South Dakota School of Mines Hardrockers.

Those wanting more information should contact the Ralph L. Gray Alumni Center at 417.625.9355 or visit

Following is a list of events:

Tuesday, Oct. 2
• 7 p.m. – 8 p.m. - 61Syx Tech Break Dance Crew (BSC Phelps Theatre)

Wednesday, Oct. 3
• 11 a.m.- 1 p.m. - Wellness Wednesday- Photo Booth and Make and Take Frames (BSC-Lion's Den)
• 7 p.m. - Outdoor Movie and Bonfire.  Movie: The Avengers 
Thursday, Oct. 4
• 7 p.m. - Diamond Jubilee Concert (Taylor Auditorium) 
Friday, Oct. 5
• 10:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m. - All Campus Picnic (Oval)
• 6 p.m. – 8 p.m. -  Alumni Awards Reception (Ralph L. Gray Alumni Center)
• 7 p.m.- 10 p.m. - Parade Float Party (The Pit Parking Lot)

Saturday, Oct. 6
• 11:30 a.m. - Homecoming Parade (MSSU Campus)
• Noon - Homecoming Tailgate (Ralph L. Gray Alumni Center)
• 2 p.m. -  Homecoming Football Kick-Off
Homecoming events will honor:

2012 Outstanding Alumnus
Carol Parker, ‘54
Mike Moore, ‘87
Bryan Vowels, ‘92

2012 Lionhearted
Brad Belk

2012-2013 Athletics Hall of Fame
Hal Bodon
Heather (Hoyle) Sams, '00
Katie (Gariss) Marsh, '02
Eddin Santiago, '02

2012- 2013 Chart Hall of Fame
Jack Brannan, ‘54
Richard Massa
Cleetis Headlee (posthumous award)
H. Kenneth McCaleb, ‘41 (posthumous award)

2011- 2012 Superior Service Award Winners
Michael Moss
John Shafer
Natalie Bruce
Kelly Wilson, '83
Jim Hartje
Karen Wade

2011- 2012 Outstanding Professors
Dr. Dave Locher
Dr. Steve Wagner
Dr. Daniel Marsh
Special Recognition
Dr. Conrad Gubera, ‘60

2012 Governor's Award Recipient
Dr. Trina Scott