Dr. Sherry Buchanan Re-Elected MSSU Board Chair

June 14, 2012

University Relations & Marketing
sherry buchananJOPLIN, MO (SNS) – Missouri Southern State University’s Board of Governors elected Dr. Sherry L. Buchanan, Joplin, to serve as Board Chair for the 2012-2013 fiscal year.

The annual Board reorganization action was taken during a regular meeting Thursday, June 14, 2012.

This will be Dr. Buchanan’s second term as Board Chair. She was first elected in June 2011 and served in the position for the previous 2011-2012 fiscal year.

Gov. Jay Nixon appointed Dr. Buchanan to the MSSU Board in 2009. Her current term on the Board will end Aug. 30, 2014.

She retired in 2008 from her private practice as a licensed psychologist. Prior to her retirement she was co-executive director of the Children's Center of Southwest Missouri, a child advocacy center, in Joplin.

For nearly 10 years she was director of domestic violence and sexual assault intervention services at Lafayette House in Joplin. She earned her Ph.D. in counseling and psychology, her Master's degree in guidance and counseling and her bachelor's degree from the University of Missouri – Kansas City (UMKC).

She also was a teacher, counselor and psychological examiner at the high school level for Lee's Summit and East High School in Kansas City, and has taught at several other schools, colleges and universities, including MSSU.

Richard (Dick) A. Walter, Joplin, was elected for the third time as Vice Chair of the Board. His current term on the Board expires Aug. 30, 2013. Mr. Walter was appointed by Gov. Matt Blunt to the eight-member Board of Governors at MSSU in 2007. He retired in 2005 as a district engineer from the Missouri Department of Transportation. 

Mr. Walter holds an associate's degree in computing analysis from Missouri Southern State University and a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the Missouri University of Science & Technology in Rolla.

Mr. Walter’s education also included the Transportation Officer Basic Course at the U.S. Army Transportation School, the Engineer Officer Advanced Course at the U.S. Army Training Support Center and the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College.

In his 36-year career with the Missouri Department of Transportation (1969-2005), Mr. Walter was District Engineer for District 7 in Joplin; Assistant Division Engineer - Bridge Maintenance, and Field Liaison Engineer - Traffic for the Maintenance and Traffic Division (Jefferson City); District Maintenance and Traffic Engineer for District 2 (Macon); Traffic Studies and Corrections Engineer for Maintenance and Traffic Division (Jefferson City); and District Maintenance Engineer, District Highway Design Engineer, Senior Highway Designer and Highway Designer for District 7 (Joplin).

He served in numerous leadership roles for the Missouri Army National Guard (1976-1994) in St. Louis, Jefferson City, Joplin, Monett and Pierce City, and he also served as Platoon Leader for the 418th Transportation Company at Fort Hood for the United States Army in 1969-1971.

The Board also re-elected Linda Eis, University Treasurer, as Board Treasurer and Sharon Odem, Secretary to the President, as Board Secretary.
2012-13 Officers *
Dr. Sherry L. Buchanan, Joplin, Chair (Term expires Aug. 30, 2014)
Mr. Richard (Dick) A. Walter, Joplin, Vice Chair (Term expires Aug. 30, 2013) 
Other Governors:
Mr. Rod Anderson, Monett (Term expired Sept. 4, 2009 – serving until Gov. appointment action taken);
Mr. David Jones, Springfield (Term expired Aug. 30, 2011– serving until Gov. appointment action taken);
Mrs. Nancy D. Perry, Carthage (Term expires Aug. 30, 2012);
Mr. Lynn M. Ewing III, Nevada (Term expires Aug. 30, 2015);
Charles “Chuck” Surface, Joplin (Term expires Aug. 30, 2016);
Mr. James B. Fleischaker, Joplin (Term expires Aug. 30, 2017).
* Officers are elected by MSSU Board members and serve one-year terms effective in July. The Governor of the State of Missouri appoints Board members to six-year terms.