Career Services

Events

Picture of people signing up for career day helpPicture of a student talking to a police officer at career dayPicture of student talking to a job recruiterPicture of two people shaking hands

Upcoming Events

Student Professional Development Luncheons

12:20 pm – 12:50 pm
Billingsly Student Center

Learn from industry professionals on a variety of topics to help you succeed in the workplace. Free lunch is provided!

Luncheon topics and dates:

Tuesday, September 9th (BSC 309)
Getting Involved to Network & Build Your Resume
Joe Craigmile - Business Development Officer at Southwest Missouri Bank

Tuesday, October 21st (BSC 356)
Employers & First Impressions
Rebecca Dunham - Sales Manager at Arvest Bank

Tuesday, November 4th (BSC 356)
LinkedIn - Why Do I Need a Profile?
Jennifer Little - Senior Talent Advisor at Leggett & Platt

Tuesday, December 2nd (BSC 356)
Real World Advice From a Hiring Manager
Lori Dreiling - Human Resources Manager at Modine Manufacturing

Tuesday, February 3rd (BSC 309)
What Are Employers Really Looking For In Candidates?
Doug Spears - Director of Recruitment at TAMKO Building Products

Tuesday, March 3rd (BSC 309)
Resumes & Cover Letters - How to Land an Interview
Jamie Hirshey - Human Resource Manager and Freeman Health System

Major, Minor, and Career Exploration Event

Wednesday, October 1, 2014
10:00 am – 2:00 pm
Billingsly Student Center 3rd Floor

Learn about different majors and minors that Missouri Southern State University offers and attend break-out sessions to hear from business professionals about career options for a variety of majors.

Education Career Fair

Thursday, March 12, 2015
12:00 pm – 4:00 pm
Billingsly Student Center Ballroom

The Education Career Fair is a great opportunity to network, learn about a variety of organizations, and find great job prospects.

Career Fair Cram

Wednesday, April 1, 2015
4:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Billingsly Student Center Ballroom

Cram for the ultimate final... Starting your career.  Visit booths to ensure you are fully prepared for the Spring Career Fair.  Stations include resume and cover letter critique by area Young Professionals, mock interviews, handshake tips, how to tie a tie, and many more.

Etiquette Dinner and Networking Event

Monday, April 6, 2015
5:30 pm – 7:30 pm
Billingsly Student Center

Learn the ins and outs of dinner etiquette in a fun environment with presenters form the business community. Please RSVP in the Career Services Office.

Spring Career Fair

Wednesday, April 8, 2015
10:00 am – 2:00 pm
Leggett & Platt Athletic Center

The Spring Career Fair is a great opportunity to network, learn about a variety of organizations, and find great job prospects. 80+ Employers and graduate schools will be at this event to visit with you about job opportunities and the organizations they represent!

Walk-in Workshops

MSSU Career Services Office, 2nd Floor Spiva Library

Stop by the Career Services Office on the Second Floor of Spiva Library for: career and resume advice, assistance creating or editing your resume, assistance researching careers, information on job shadowing and internships, or resume printing. All services and printing are available free-of-charge; no appointment is needed during workshops.

Fall 2014 Dates

Spring 2015 Dates

Friday, August 29, 11-3 pm Thursday, January 22, 11-3 pm
Thursday, September 4, 11-3 pm Friday, January 30, 11-3 pm
Thursday, September 11, 11-3 pm Thursday, February 5, 11-3 pm
Friday, September 19, 11-3 pm Thursday, February 12, 11-3 pm
Thursday, September 25, 11-3pm Friday, February 20, 11-3 pm
Friday, October 3, 11-3 pm Thursday, February 26, 11-3 pm
Thursday, October 9, 11-3 pm Friday, March 6, 11-3 pm
Friday, October 17, 11-3 pm Thursday, March 12, 11-3 pm
Thursday, October 23, 11-3 pm Thursday, March 26, 11-3 pm
Friday, October 31, 11-3 pm Tuesday, March 31, 12-3 pm
Thursday, November 6, 11-3 pm Friday, April 3, 11-3 pm
Friday, November 14, 11-3 pm Tuesday, April 7, 12-3 pm
Thursday, November 20, 11-3 pm Thursday, April 9, 11-3 pm
Friday, December 5, 11-3 pm Wednesday, April 15, 12-3 pm
Thursday, December 11, 11-3 pm Friday, April 17, 11-3 pm
  Thursday, April 23, 11-3 pm
  Friday, May 1, 11-3 pm
  Thursday, May 7, 11-3 pm
©