Skip to main content

Teacher Education Faculty/Staff

Teacher Education Department

Deborah J. BrownDeborah Brown

Dean, Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.), Southwest Missouri State University
Master's (M.S.), University of Missouri-Columbia
Doctorate (Ph.D.), University of Missouri-Columbia
Taylor Hall, 218B
417-625-9307
brown-deborah@mssu.edu


Ms. Lorinda Hackett, Ed.S.Lorinda Hackett

Master of Education in Guidance and Counseling from Northwest Missouri State University
Education Specialist in Higher Education from Pittsburg State University

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education, Social Science
Research Interests: Sustainability of Public Education
Advising Areas: Secondary Education,  K-12 Education, Middle Level Education, Elementary Education

Office: Taylor 225
Phone: 417-625-3060
E-mail: hacket-l@mssu.edu 

 

Laura L. AdkinsLaura Adkins

Professor
Teacher Education Adjunct Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.E.), Missouri Southern State College
Master's (M.S.), Pittsburg State University
Doctorate (Ed.D.), Nova Southeastern University
Taylor Hall, 104 B
417-625-9749
adkins-l@mssu.edu


Dr. Maggie BeachnerMaggie Beachner

Masters in Secondary Education from University of Arkansas - Fayetteville
Doctor of Philosophy in Curriculum and Instruction from University of Arkansas - Fayetteville

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education
Research Interests: Teacher Preparation
Advising Areas: Secondary Education - Social Science, Misc. Teacher Education

Office: Taylor 229B
Phone: 417-625-3079
E-mail: beachner-m@mssu.edu 

 

Dr. Matthew Beaver, MSMatthew Beaver

Master of Science in Educational Leadership from Pittsburg State University

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education
Research Interests: None
Advising Areas: Transfer Student, Jane Offsite Cohort, OCC Co-op, Assessment, Certification

Office: Taylor 221
Phone: 417-659-4318
E-mail: beaver-m@mssu.edu  

 

Clara Jean CozensJeanie Cozens

Associate Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.E.), Arkansas Tech University
Master's (M.Ed.), Arkansas Tech University
Doctorate (Ed.D.), University of Arkansas
Taylor Hall, 219
417-659-4475
cozens-j@mssu.edu


Dr. Susan Craigsusan craig photo

Master of Science in Secondary School Guidance and Counseling from Missouri State University
Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis from University of Missouri - Columbia

Teaching Responsibilities: Middle/Secondary Literacy, Pedagogy
Research Interests: Literacy and Instructional Strategies for Middle/Secondary students
Advising Areas: Secondary English Education, Elementary Education

Office: Taylor 222
Phone: 417-625-9746
E-mail: craig-s@mssu.edu 

 

Sheila Damer

Director of Clinical Fields Experience

Bachelor's (B.S.E.), University of Arkansas
Master's (M.S.), Pittsburg State University
Specialist (Ed.S.), Pittsburg State University
Taylor Hall, 224 
417-625-9623 
damer-s@mssu.edu

 

Peggy Day

Assistant Professor

Bachelor's (B.S.E.), Missouri Southern State University
Master's (M.A.), Pittsburg State University
Taylor Hall, 237
417-625-9688
day-p@mssu.edu

 

Gloria J. FaineGloria Faine

Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.), Langston University
Master's (M.S.), Northeastern State University
Doctorate (Ph.D), Oklahoma State University
Taylor Hall, 238
417-659-4476
faine-g@mssu.edu


C. Elaine FreemanElaine Freeman

Professor
Bachelor's (A.B.), Pittsburg State University
Master's (M.S.), Pittsburg State University
Specialist (Ed.S), Pittsburg State University
Doctorate (Ph.D.), University of Tulsa Summer Studies, Oxford University, England
Taylor Hall, 235
417-625-9759
freeman-e@mssu.edu


Rebecca S. GallemoreRebecca Gallemore

Associate Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.), Northern Illinois University
Master's (M.S.), Northern Illinois University
Specialist (Ed.S.), Missouri State University
Taylor Hall, 230
417-659-5425
gallemore-r@mssu.edu


 Carissa Gober Carissa Gober

Masters of Science in Teaching from Pittsburg State University
Doctor of Education in Instructional Leadership from Lindenwood University

Teaching Responsibilities: Education in a Global Society, Classroom Management, Pedagogy, Supervision of Teacher Candidates
Research Interests: Mulitcultural Education, English Language Learners
Advising Areas: Music Education, Speech and Drama Education

Office: Taylor 233
Phone: 417-625-9676
E-mail: gober-c@mssu.edu 

 

Dr. Cherona Hicklin, Ed.D.Cherona Hicklin

Master of Science in Education Administration from Pittsburg State University
Education Specialist in Superintendency from Southwest Baptist University
Doctor of Education in Education Leadership from Southwest Baptist University

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education
Research Interests: Impact of instructional technology on academic achievement, Educational Advocacy
Advising Areas: Elementary Education, Early Childhood Education, Art Education

Office: Taylor 234
Phone: 417-625-3153
E-mail: hicklin-c@mssu.edu 

 

Dr. Melissa A. LocherMelissa Locher

Master of Science in Education from University of Kentucky
Doctorate of Education from University of Missouri

Teaching Responsibilities: Special Education, General Education
Research Interests: Students with disabilities in the P-12 learning enviroment
Advising Areas: Special Education, Elementary Education

Office: Taylor 236
Phone: 417-625-9725
E-mail: locher-m@mssu.edu 

 

Brian Neugebauer

Assistant ProfessorBrian Neugebauer
Bachelor's (B.S.Ed.), Missouri Southern State University
Master's (M.S. Ed.), William Woods University
Taylor Hall, 228A
417-625-9732
neugebauer-b@mssu.edu

 

Danny C. OverdeerDanny Overdeer

Professor
Bachelor's (B.A.), Missouri Southern State University
Bachelor's (B.S.), Oklahoma State University
Master's (M.S.), Oklahoma State University
Doctorate (Ed.D.), Oklahoma State University
Taylor Hall, 231
417-625-9747
overdeer-d@mssu.edu

 

Michelle PriceMichelle Price

Department Secretary
Taylor Hall, 220
417-625-9309
price-m@mssu.edu

 

Marcie Berens

Part-time Secretary
Taylor Hall, 232
417-625-3016
Berens-m@mssu.edu 

#gomoso

©