Skip to main content

Teacher Education Faculty/Staff

Teacher Education Department

 Ms. Lorinda Hackett, Ed.S.Lorinda Hackett

Interim Dean

Master of Education in Guidance and Counseling from Northwest Missouri State University
Education Specialist in Higher Education from Pittsburg State University

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education, Social Science
Research Interests: Sustainability of Public Education
Advising Areas: Secondary Education,  K-12 Education, Middle Level Education, Elementary Education

Office: Taylor 225
Phone: 417-625-3060
E-mail: hackett-l@mssu.edu 

 

Dr. Laura L. AdkinsLaura Adkins

Professor
Teacher Education Adjunct Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.E.), Missouri Southern State College
Master's (M.S.), Pittsburg State University
Doctorate (Ed.D.), Nova Southeastern University
Office: Taylor Hall, 104 B
Phone: 417-625-9749
E-mail: adkins-l@mssu.edu

 

Dr. Bobbie AugspurgerDr. Bobbie Augspurger

Assistant Professor
Masters in Elementary Education from Missouri State University
Educational Technology Specialist from Missouri State University
Doctor of Educational Administration, Advanced Principal and Superintendent from
Lindenwood University, St. Charles, Missouri

Research Interests: Use and Impact of Learning Formats and Digital Tools

Office: Taylor,  219
Phone:  417-625-3559
Email: Augspurger-b@mssu.edu


Dr. Maggie BeachnerMaggie Beachner

Masters in Secondary Education from University of Arkansas - Fayetteville
Doctor of Philosophy in Curriculum and Instruction from University of Arkansas - Fayetteville

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education
Research Interests: Teacher Preparation
Advising Areas: Secondary Education - Social Science, Misc. Teacher Education

Office: Taylor 230
Phone: 417-625-3079
E-mail: beachner-m@mssu.edu 

 

Matthew Beaver, MSMatthew Beaver

Master of Science in Educational Leadership from Pittsburg State University

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education
Advising Areas: Transfer Student, Jane Offsite Cohort, OCC Co-op, Assessment, Certification

Office: Taylor 221
Phone: 417-659-4318
E-mail: beaver-m@mssu.edu  

 

Dr. Clara Jean CozensJeanie Cozens

Associate Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.E.), Arkansas Tech University
Master's (M.Ed.), Arkansas Tech University
Doctorate (Ed.D.), University of Arkansas
Office: Taylor Hall, 228a 
Phone: 417-659-4475
E-mail: cozens-j@mssu.edu


Dr. Susan Craigsusan craig photo

Interim Department Chair

Master of Science in Secondary School Guidance and Counseling from Missouri State University
Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis from University of Missouri - Columbia

Teaching Responsibilities: Middle/Secondary Literacy, Pedagogy
Research Interests: Literacy and Instructional Strategies for Middle/Secondary students
Advising Areas: Secondary English Education, Elementary Education

Office: Taylor 222
Phone: 417-625-9746
E-mail: craig-s@mssu.edu 

 

 Peggy Day

Assistant Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.E.), Missouri Southern State University
Master's (M.A.), Pittsburg State University
Office: Taylor Hall, 237
Phone: 417-625-9688
E-mail: day-p@mssu.edu

 

  Dr. Carissa Gober Carissa Gober

Masters of Science in Teaching from Pittsburg State University
Doctor of Education in Instructional Leadership from Lindenwood University

Teaching Responsibilities: Education in a Global Society, Classroom Management, Pedagogy, Supervision of Teacher Candidates
Research Interests: Mulitcultural Education, English Language Learners
Advising Areas: Music Education, Speech and Drama Education

Office: Taylor 235
Phone: 417-625-9676
E-mail: gober-c@mssu.edu 

 

Dr. Cherona Hicklin, Ed.D.Cherona Hicklin

Master of Science in Education Administration from Pittsburg State University
Education Specialist in Superintendency from Southwest Baptist University
Doctor of Education in Education Leadership from Southwest Baptist University

Teaching Responsibilities: Teacher Education
Research Interests: Impact of instructional technology on academic achievement, Educational Advocacy
Advising Areas: Elementary Education, Early Childhood Education, Art Education

Office: Taylor 234
Phone: 417-625-3153
E-mail: hicklin-c@mssu.edu 

 

Dr. Melissa A. LocherMelissa Locher

Master of Science in Education from University of Kentucky
Doctorate of Education from University of Missouri

Teaching Responsibilities: Special Education, General Education
Research Interests: Students with disabilities in the P-12 learning enviroment
Advising Areas: Special Education, Elementary Education

Office: Taylor 236
Phone: 417-625-9725
E-mail: locher-m@mssu.edu 

 

Kristi MascherKristi Mascher

Clinical Instructor for Director of Clinical Fields Experiences
Masters of Science in Special Education from University of Missouri

Teaching Responsibilities:  Early Childhood Education, Student Teaching, Literacy
Research Interests:  Gifted Education
Advising Areas:  Early Childhood, Elementary Education

Office: Taylor Hall, 224
Phone: 417-625-9623
E-mail: mascher-k@mssu.edu

 

Brian Neugebauer Brian Neugebauer

Assistant Professor
Bachelor's (B.S.Ed.), Missouri Southern State University
Master's (M.S. Ed.), William Woods University

Office: Taylor Hall, 231
Phone: 417-625-9732
E-mail: neugebauer-b@mssu.edu

 

Zackary RiceZackary Rice

Lecturer in Special Education
Bachelors in History and Government Education from Mid-America Nazarene University, Olathe, KS
Masters of Education in Adaptive Special Education from Southwestern College, Winfield, KS
Office: Taylor 238
Phone: 417-659-4476
E-mail: Rice-z@mssu.edu

 

Laura SchislerLaura Schisler

Assistant Professor
Bachelors of Science in Justice Systems and Biology from Truman State University, Kirksville, MO
Masters of Arts in Teaching (Biology/Unified Science) from Missouri State University, Springfield, MO
Office: Taylor 228b
Phone: 417-625-9502
E-mail: Schisler-l@mssu.edu

 

Dr. Jennifer Stegall

Assistant Professor
Masters of Arts in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages from Regent University
Doctorate in Learning, Teaching, and Curriculum: Reading Education from University of Missouri
Office: Taylor 229a
Phone: 417-625-9626
E-mail: Stegall-j@mssu.edu

 

Michelle PriceMichelle Price

Department Secretary
Office: Taylor Hall, 220
Phone: 417-625-9309
E-mail: price-m@mssu.edu

 

 

Marcie BerensMarcie Berens

Part-time Secretary
Office: Taylor Hall, 232
Phone: 417-625-3016
E-mail: Berens-m@mssu.edu 

#gomoso

©