Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Modern Languages Department

Dr. James Kilpatrick, ChairJames Kilpatrick

Professor of Spanish

Email: kilpatrick-j@mssu.edu

Phone:417-625-9667


Dr. Shannon ConnollyShannon Connolly

Master of Arts in French from University of Virginia
Doctor of Philosophy in French from University of Virginia

Teaching Responsibilities: French
Research Interests: Using anthropological methods and legal criticism to understand topics in French studies, particularly early modern French literature
Advising Areas: French

Office: Webster 320B
Phone: 417-625-9590
E-mail: connolly-s@mssu.edu 

Ruben GalveDr. Rubén Galve-Rivera

Master of Arts in Spanish Literature from Texas Tech University
Doctorate of Philosophy in Spanish Literature from Texas Tech University

Teaching Responsibilities: Spanish Language and Culture, Spanish Literture and History
Research Interests: Spanish Peninsular Literature, Portugal Peninsular Literature and Language
Advising Areas: Senior Advising, Spanish

Office: Webster 356
Phone: 417-625-9332
E-mail: galverivera-r@mssu.edu 

Sherman HouDr. Sherman Hou

Professor of Chinese and Japanese

Email: hou-x@mssu.edu

Phone: 417-625-3106


Susana LisoDr. Susana Liso, Ph.D.

Master's in Spanish Linguistics from Ohio State University
Doctorate in Spanish Peninsular Literature from Ohio State University

Teaching Responsibilities: Spanish Grammar, Spanish Literature and Culture
Research Interests: Re-creation of a nation's identity in 18th, 19th, and 20th century Spanish Peninsular literature, Discourse of domestic women in 18th, 19th, and 20th century Spanish Peninsular literature
Advising Areas: Spanish

Office: Webster 355
Phone: 417-625-9655
E-mail: liso-s@mssu.edu 

Leslie SmithMrs. Leslie Smith

Master of Arts in Spanish from University of Arkansas
Doctoral Canidate in Literacy, Culture, and Language Education from Indiana University - Bloomington

Teaching Responsibilities: Spanish, Education
Research Interests: Proficiency Development, Bilingual Education
Advising Areas: Spanish

Office: Webster 353
Phone: 417-625-3109
E-mail: smith-leslie@mssu.edu 

Pedro TalaveraDr. Pedro Talavera

Professor of Spanish

Email: talavera-p@mssu.edu

Phone:417-625-3108


Ms. Amanda WilliamsAmanda Williams

Administrative Assistant 
williams-amanda@mssu.edu
Webster Hall 343
417-625-3125

#gomoso

©